Home > Uncategorized > “Quotes” …re Barry Goldwater…

“Quotes” …re Barry Goldwater…

Senator Barry Goldwater, the sponsor of the fi...

Image via Wikipedia

“I have little interest in streamlining government or in making it more efficient, for I mean to reduce its size.

I do not undertake to promote welfare, for I propose to extend freedom.

My aim is not to pass laws, but to repeal them.

It is not to inaugurate new programs, but to cancel old ones that do violence to the Constitution … or have failed their purpose … or that impose on the people an unwarranted financial burden.

I will not attempt to discover whether legislation is ‘needed’ before I have first determined whether it is constitutionally permissible.

And if I should be attacked for neglecting my constituents’ ‘interests,’ I shall reply that I was informed that their main interest is liberty, and in that cause I am doing the very best I can.”

- Barry Goldwater

via THE GUNNY G WEBLOG @ NETWORK54.COM: “Quotes” …re Barry Goldwater….

  1. March 9, 2012 at 8:14 PM
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,253 other followers