Home > Uncategorized > Obama’s America: Why Black Grievance Will Never End

Obama’s America: Why Black Grievance Will Never End

When I was 12 years old, I used to play tennis at a certain public park in the Bronx. One day it got back to me that a black fellow at the courts, whose name I forget, said, “Selwyn doesn’t like black people.” This raised my eyebrows.

You see, I had never really thought about the man one way or the other. And what occupied my mind were forehands, backhands, topspin, and volleys, not race. So the only thing I could figure was that I was probably in a funk one day and didn’t hear and acknowledge a greeting he might have extended. Whatever the perceived slight, race was a factor. After all, imagine the reaction if he had been white. At worst, he might have thought, “Selwyn is a self-absorbed brat,” which would have been closer to the truth.

Or he might just have concluded that I was having a bad day (I was an aspiring player at the time but, lamentably, had a lot of bad days). Instead, he saw bad intentions where none existed.

(Excerpt) Read more at americanthinker.com …

via Obama’s America: Why Black Grievance Will Never End.

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. July 1, 2012 at 4:18 PM
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers