Home > Uncategorized > Robin Koerner on Blue Republicans and Why Ron Paul Remains the Hope for the US’s Future by Anthony Wile

Robin Koerner on Blue Republicans and Why Ron Paul Remains the Hope for the US’s Future by Anthony Wile

Congressman Ron Paul at an event hosted in his...

Congressman Ron Paul at an event hosted in his honor at CPAC 2011 in Washington, D.C. Please attribute to Gage Skidmore if used elsewhere. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Recently by Anthony Wile: Thomas H. Naylor on Leviathan, Secession and Vermont’s Small Nation Dream

Introduction: Robin Koerner is an influential political journalist who coined the term “Blue Republican.” He also runs WatchingAmerica.com, a volunteer force some 400 strong that finds and translates news and views about the USA from all over the world. This interview was conducted prior to the announcement that Congressman and Presidential Candidate Ron Paul (whom Koerner backs) would not further contest various states in the Republican primary. However, Ron Paul has not given any indication he is actually dropping out of the race and Koerner’s statements below thus stand as stated (unless Ron Paul issues further clarifications) without need of further clarification.

Daily Bell: Give us some background on yourself.

Robin Koerner: I am in my mid-30s and born in south of England. I studied physics and philosophy at Peterhouse, Cambridge University and have traveled quite extensively. I’m now a permanent resident of the USA (living in Seattle), with the intention of becoming a citizen. I am also the founder and publisher of Watching America.com and probably best known in the USA today for coining the expression “Blue Republican” to refer to those former non-Republicans of more liberal sensibility who are switching to the Republican party specifically to support Ron Paul.

Daily Bell: When did you decide to get involved as an alternative media political commentator?

Robin Koerner: I have been writing on and off for a few years, after I founded http://www.WatchingAmerica.com, but was not very motivated because I didn’t feel that my writing was making much of a difference… Then about a year ago I was invited to write on the Huffington Post and I thought that I should give writing a serious go to see if I could do any good. In particular, I thought HuffPo offered a great opportunity to provide an alternative account of US politics to liberals. I soon found that many thousands of people were following and sharing my articles. Feeling I was indeed making a useful contribution to the American political scene, I committed myself more firmly to writing, and I’ve been fortunate enough to have enjoyed significant success.

Daily Bell: Why did you develop the Blue Republican nomenclature specifically?

Robin Koerner: The reasons are in the article that set it off, called “If You Love Peace, Become a Blue Republican (Just for a Year).”

Daily Bell: Is it a feasible idea?

Robin Koerner: Yes. The free market of ideas decided within a few days that “Blue Republican” had legs. (The article was shared over 11,000 times within a couple of days on Facebook alone.) It seems that thousands of Americans have gotten the sense that Left and Right are equally responsible for the mess we’re in and that the Democrats are not standing up for true liberal values (civil rights, peace over war, against crony-corporatism).

They also feel that Obama has been Bush-plus in most of these areas, so there is great disappointment among some Democrats and Independents. I articulated that perception and gave it a name. And I provided a suggestion as to how to be true to liberal principles in the USA today – by supporting Ron Paul.

The “Blue Republican” label gives a political identity to those who have never identified Republican but will put principle over party to support Paul. “Blue Republican” is almost at the status of a meme now, as a term used by various political media. That is the ultimate indicator of its feasibility. Special thanks to Zak Carter for helping us get media attention and to Israel Anderson for being the first to person to contact me (on the day my Blue Republican article came out) to identify that I probably had a political movement on my hands and for helping to make that so on Day 1!

Daily Bell: More about what you think of Ron Paul …

EXCERPT

via Robin Koerner on Blue Republicans and Why Ron Paul Remains the Hope for the US’s Future by Anthony Wile.

http://www.canadafreepress.com/images/uploads/swirsky050209.jpg

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. May 22, 2012 at 9:24 AM
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,254 other followers