Home > Uncategorized > Benjamin Franklin, the Iroquois and the Rationale for the American Revolution | BLOGGING BAD ~ DICK.G: AMERICAN !

Benjamin Franklin, the Iroquois and the Rationale for the American Revolution | BLOGGING BAD ~ DICK.G: AMERICAN !

By Bruce E. Johansen

Benjamin Franklin, the Iroquois and the Rationale for the American Revolution

All of the Introduction and Afterword, as well as excerpts from Chapters 1 through 6, are included here for people interested in this subject but not feeling they have the time to read the entire book.

I N T R O D U C T I O N

It is now time for a destructive order to be reversed, and it is well to inform other races that the aboriginal cultures of North America were not devoid of beauty. Futhermore, in denying the Indian his ancestral rights and heritages the white race is but robbing itself. America can be revived, rejuvenated, by recognizing a Native School of thought.

Chief Luther Standing Bear

Lakota (Sioux)

Land of the Spotted Eagle

The seeds for this book were sown in my mind during a late-summer day in 1975, by a young American Indian whose name I’ve long since forgotten. As a reporter for the Seattle Times, I had been researching a series of articles on Washington State Indian tribes. The research took me to Evergreen State College in Olympia, where a young woman, an undergraduate in the American Indian studies program, told me in passing that the Iroquois had played a key role in the evolution of American democracy.

The idea at first struck me as disingenuous. I considered myself decently educated in American history, and to the best of my knowledge, government for and by the people had been………………

EXCERPT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

via Benjamin Franklin, the Iroquois and the Rationale for the American Revolution | BLOGGING BAD ~ DICK.G: AMERICAN !.

***

isthisman

isthisman (Photo credit: GunnyG1345)

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. December 27, 2013 at 9:07 AM | #1

    Reblogged this on BLOGGING BAD ~ DICK.G: AMERICAN ! and commented:

    GUNNY G~

  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,076 other followers