Hurricane Matthew: Apocalypse Not Now…………….  ~  “My wife Mary and I live in central Florida. Hurricane Matthew was expected to hit us around 8am Friday morning. Around 5pm Thursday, I decided to pick up a few”……………..

*************************************************************

Skip to comments.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hurricane Matthew: Apocalypse Not Now
American Thinker ^ | October 13, 2016 | Lloyd Marcus

Posted on 10/13/2016, 7:31:40 AM by Kaslin

My wife Mary and I live in central Florida. Hurricane Matthew was expected to hit us around 8am Friday morning. Around 5pm Thursday, I decided to pick up a few groceries. It was too late. Every supermarket was closed. Streets were empty. It felt like I was driving on the set of a sci-fi movie.

We lost power 10pm Thursday night. Mid-morning Friday, the worst of the storm had passed us. Thank God we only lost one tree, which missed our house, and one section of our fence.

Mary and I took a ride to assess neighborhood damage. The streets were empty. A picture window was smashed at the corner food mart/gas station. We suspected it was the result of thug damage rather than hurricane damage. We saw three young black guys with their pants below their butts approaching. Accuse me of profiling, but my instincts told me they were up to no good. Sure enough, they spotted the broken window and made a beeline to it. I told Mary to video them with her phone. My foot hovered above the gas pedal for a fast getaway. When the thugs saw Mary shooting them, they wandered away. Mary called the emergency number posted on the store window.

Saturday morning our power came back on, but went out again after a few hours. I immediately went to a big-box hardware store for materials to repair our fence to keep Sammy, our fast-running greyhound, in our background. Our power did not return until late Monday evening.

I have never given much thought to the whole “prepper thing”, survivalists preparing for emergencies and political disruption. But I tell you, folks, witnessing the effect of only a two-day interruption of the public’s daily routine has me thinking.

(Excerpt) Read more at americanthinker.com


TOPICS: Culture/Society; Editorial; US: Florida; Click to Add Topic
KEYWORDS: Click to Add Keyword



1 posted on 10/13/2016, 7:31:40 AM by Kaslin

To: Kaslin
2 posted on 10/13/2016, 7:42:32 AM by PGR88

Source: Hurricane Matthew: Apocalypse Not Now

About Gunny G

GnySgt USMC (Ret.) 1952--'72 PC: History, Poly-Tiks, Military, Stories, Controversial, Unusual, Humorous, etc.... "Simplify...y'know!"
This entry was posted in alternate news. Bookmark the permalink.