Posted on 8/1/2017, 9:15:19 AM by Red Badger
How To Permanently Delete A Facebook Account
Here is the direct link to the official Facebook account deletion page.
Delete Facebook Share
Read the step-by-step guide for a clean, dignified exit.
A deceased member’s account can be memorialized or deleted. The Facebook Account Deletion Process
Your account will be ‘deactivated’ for two weeks. After this period it will be permanently deleted.
Do not login to your account during this time. It will cancel the deletion request.
Do not be fooled into switching to a deactivation request. Deactivation is NOT deletion.
Consider an account deletion epitaph to notify friends of your departure. What Happens To Your Data?
In theory, deleting your account immediately removes all Facebook data related to you. In reality it’s more complicated, taking about a month.
Allegations of complicity with National Security Agency surveillance suggest that your data may never truly be deleted.
You can still cleanse your Facebook presence for everyone else,
Delete any sensitive content that you have posted. Contact friends about content that you would like deleted.
Backup your data before deletion if you’d like a copy. Leaving Social Data Behind
As hard as you try, some personally identifiable information may remain. This could be something as simple as your name on a message.
You have little control over this or what others share about you in future. The most you can realistically do is ask your friends to respect your privacy.
Data shared with apps and advertisers is with them forever. As a Facebook user you are leaving behind a valuable personal data footprint. Enjoy Your Freedom
“‘And remember, where you have a concentration of power in a few hands, all too frequently men with the mentality of gangsters get control. History has proven that. All power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely.’” — Sir John Dalberg-Acton……….