Skip to comments. Albuquerque’s Jim Jones Sings and Writes About his Love for the West Albuquerque ^ | Saturday, November 4th, 2017 | Ollie Reed Jr.

Skip to comments.

Albuquerque’s Jim Jones Sings and Writes About his Love for the West
Albuquerque ^ | Saturday, November 4th, 2017 | Ollie Reed Jr.

Posted on 11/14/2017, 4:17:47 PM by nickcarraway

It’s difficult to say what came first for Albuquerque’s Jim Jones — his love of music, his love of story or his love of the West. The thing is all three likely settled in his psyche at the exact same instant, when he was just 4 years old. That’s when he heard his father singing “Do Not Forsake Me, Oh My Darlin’,” the theme song for “High Noon,” the classic 1952 Western movie starring Gary Cooper.

I do not know what fate awaits me.

I only know I must be brave.

For I must face a man who hates me,

Or lie a coward, a craven coward;

Or lie a coward in my grave.

“It’s the kind of thing that gets imprinted on your mind,” said Jones, 67, a Western singer-songwriter and the author of four novels about the Old West. “I knew it was a song from the movies, so it was a story. Because I knew movies were like big TV.”

However, it was not until he enrolled at the University of Texas at Austin in 1969 that Jones zeroed in on the passions that have shaped him into the award-winning musician and writer he is today.

“Once I got into Austin, Guy Clark, Jerry Jeff Walker, Michael Martin Murphey, all these people were playing songs and telling stories. I knew then that’s what I wanted to do,” Jones said during a recent interview at the Corrales Bistro Brewery, an area venue he often plays. “I identified with the singer-songwriter aspect of it. Murphey was writing contemporary Western songs. ‘Wildfire’ is a Western song.”

Smart enough to realize you can be an exceptional singer and musician and still starve to death, Jones earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in psychology from UT Austin in 1972 and ’75 respectively and

(Excerpt) Read more at abqjournal.com

About Gunny G

GnySgt USMC (Ret.) 1952--'72 PC: History, Poly-Tiks, Military, Stories, Controversial, Unusual, Humorous, etc.... "Simplify...y'know!"
This entry was posted in alternate news. Bookmark the permalink.